Skip to content

One Important Word

February 7, 2017

one-word-word-cloud-1

With a new year comes the tradition of looking ahead to all it has to offer and how we might improve ourselves and our life as it touches others. A very common approach is to make a list of New Year resolutions. So…we are already several weeks into the new year now. Do you remember ANY of your resolutions? How are they working for you? I’ve never done very well with the whole resolution making game. Traditional resolutions are so often vague or negative. Don’t drink so much, don’t yell at the kids, don’t spend so much money… Don’t, don’t, don’t! (Are you feeling like a naughty kid yet?) I find it hard to get enthusiastic with such negativity. The vague resolutions just don’t get me going either. Lose weight, get healthy, focus more, improve my income. How? What is the actual problem I’m tackling? By when?

Recently, I was introduced to the concept of choosing a word for the new year. (Thanks, Mari!) Although many people make New Year resolutions (and forget them a week later), people choosing just one word keep it at the forefront as a compass throughout the year. Pick just one word that sums up who you want to be or how you want to live. What kind of PERSON would you like to become?

  • Loving
  • Generous
  • Faithful
  • Positive
  • Intentional
  • Content
  • Unafraid
  • Patient
  • Creative

Maybe words like:

  • Slow
  • Nourish
  • Connection
  • Love
  • Delight
  • Receive
  • Listen
  • Persevere
  • Self-care

resonate with you. Words have power. I think having just one word as your beacon for the year can be truly transformative. Asking yourself “What is something generous I can do today?”, “Who can I show love to today?” or “What connections can I make today?” is a powerful way to transform yourself, and the world around you.

My word for this year is Risk. What’s yours? Tell me in the comments below!

No comments yet

Leave a comment