Skip to content

And in this Corner: Spring Fever vs. Winter Blahs

March 9, 2010

I’ve taken a few days off from writing to engage in some self-care.  After a long and snowy Minnesota winter, getting through February and hoping March isn’t just more of the same is mentally and emotionally exhausting. I am a winter weenie.  No mater how hard I try to suck it up, about this time every year I feel like winter has won again and I need to re-group and take control.  No more just trying to “survive”.  It is time to live again!  Now I know why people and birds fly south for the winter.

Recently, we’ve had a few teaser days of sunshine and a day or two in the mid-30’s.  Then SMACK! The grey skies and cold return and I dive under the electric blanket once more.  It’s a tough way to live.  However, being the good Minnesotan that I am, I decided (again) that I refuse to let winter win.  I made a survival plan to get myself to spring.

  1. Remove all remaining snow within sight of my desk.  This became an obsession last week.  Every time I let out the dog, I grabbed the shovel and flipped a few more scoops of snow off of the deck.  Then I chipped away at ice.  On Friday I finally won the battle. I am now pleased to say that if it is sunny outside and you narrow your eyes a bit while looking at my snow-free deck (and have a good imagination) you can almost convince yourself that there is no snow left ANYWHERE and it is spring. (It really helps the delusion if the birds are singing as well.)
  2. Sleep more.  If I can’t see it, maybe it’s not really there.  I don’t get enough sleep anyway.
  3. Have people over here, so I don’t have to go out.  I had my “Brain Trust” over last week and we had a lot of fun and great food. Intelligent, networking women are so stimulating to be around!
  4. Make an escape plan.  Knowing that I can only avoid going out for so long, when I do go, it had better be good.  I leave for Paris and London in a week and a half.  When I come back, it had better be spring, damn it! (This has worked very effectively in the past.  Highly recommended.)
  5. Buy a spring plant.  Last week, Home Depot had primroses selling for $.88 a plant.  I chose a pretty one, re-potted it, and let it do it’s job.  It is on the table by the window daring winter to hang on.  I hope it lives long enough to make it outside.
  6. Buy some asparagus and a bunch of tulips.  Yes, this is slightly cliché, but like the first robin, they are traditional signs that spring is here and I’m rolling with it.
  7. Avoid conversations with people living in warm places.  Sorry guys, but continually telling me that it has been 70 degrees there all week is NOT helpful.  Some people can be so sadistic! You’ll hear from me when our mercury catches up to yours a bit.
  8. Put as many events as you can on your summer and autumn calendar.  It will make you feel like there really is life after winter.  I added all the school vacation days for the 2010-11 school year to my calendar on Sunday.
  9. Blast Beach Boys music while drinking something with a cute paper umbrella and fruit slice in it.  Even a dressed up glass of Hawaiian Punch can lift your spirits if you are dancing around the kitchen doing “The Swim”. (Hawaiian shirt optional.)
  10. If #1-9 fails, stand in the doorway, flung open wide, and paraphrase Scarlett O’Hara in Gone with the Wind:  “As God is my witness, as God is my witness winter’s not going to lick me! I’m going to live through this and when it’s all over, I’ll never be cold and blah again. No, nor any of my folk. If I have to lie, steal, cheat or kill. As God is my witness, I’ll never be winter blah again!”

There winter, take that!

Give winter a last kick by sharing your survival tips in the comment link below (right)!

Share

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nita permalink
    March 9, 2010 5:33 pm

    Yes, the last few ‘grey days’ made me take exceptional notice. I did two things: made a schedule of spring cleaning taking me right up to Easter, and placed countdown days to May 1st on the family calendar. I appreciate each one of your MORE thoughtful suggestions, Kelly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

