Skip to content

Keeping Your Balance in a 24/7 World

February 22, 2010

Share This Post!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

For the past few years, I have been trying to create a healthier version of me.  While on a desperately needed hermitage retreat (more about that at a later date),  I realized  that I was frustrated a lot of the time about body aches, lack of time to get everything done, challenging relationships, and lack of consistent quiet time, among other things.  I wasn’t seeing much beauty around me and was just trying to “keep afloat”.

We live in a non-stop, 24/7 world.  If we aren’t proactive and intentional about how we spend our time, we end up like I was not so long ago… tired, frustrated, emotionally drained and just treading water.  Finding a way to balance the important components of ourselves can make all the difference.  Putting a stake in the ground and applying the ideas I am going to share with you turned things around for me.  I hope they will for you too.

So, without further adieu, I’d like to introduce you to the concept of the wellness wheel.  I know it sounds a little cheesy, but bear with me.

We are amazingly complex human beings.  We each have many sides to who we are.  Sometimes, we devote too much attention to one or two facets of our being to the exclusion of the others.  If this persists, we begin to feel out of balance. Some of us may overeat, become depressed, get angry, get sick, withdraw socially, or close down our emotions in response. Most of us recognize the importance of wellness, but our busy schedules seem to take over and prevent us from having a routine that consistently meets our needs .

If we take a look at the Wellness Wheel and intentionally include activities to meet the needs in each area, in a relatively short time, we will begin to feel a greater sense of balance and harmony in our lives.

This week, I will be taking you through each of the six areas of the Wellness Wheel.  We’ll look at the Social, Emotional, Physical, Intellectual, Spiritual, and Environmental components, and you can look forward to lots of tips and ideas for achieving balance in your life.

Tomorrow: Social well-being.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

